Field note

The 5-Photo Month: Total Bill at 9 Virtual Staging Tools

As of September 2026, five staged photos in one month cost $0 to $115 across 9 tools. Totals, leftovers, expiry rules and each catch, with the math shown.

Disclosure: Machineworthy is owned by the maker of QuickStage, one of the tools covered in this post.

As of September 2026, five staged listing photos in a single month cost anywhere from $0 to $115 across the nine tools below, and the cheapest bill usually comes from a free allowance or a one-time pack, not a subscription. A first-time QuickStage user pays $2 (three free photos, then two at $1 each); Pedra and REimagineHome can cost $0 if their free credits cover all five; a human editor like Styldod runs $92 to $115. The per-photo rate on a pricing page barely matters at this volume. The total bill, and what happens to whatever you didn't use, does.

Every competitor number here comes from that vendor's own pricing page as recorded September 28–29, 2026, and each one is linked so you can check it. Where a page didn't state something, the tables say "not stated" instead of guessing.

What counts as "the bill" for a 5-photo month?

Earlier posts on this site covered free tiers, credit expiry, annual billing and what a first $20 buys. This one asks a narrower question: you have one listing, you need exactly five staged photos this month, and you want the smallest legitimate charge on your card.

The rules for the math:

  1. Cheapest legitimate path. Free credits, a minimum pack, a monthly plan or per-photo pricing, whichever totals least. No annual prepay unless it's the only option, because nobody with a 5-photo month should be prepaying a year.
  2. Usable photos only. Watermarked or "evaluation-only" previews don't count toward the five.
  3. Best case on re-rolls. The totals assume every first attempt is listing-ready. That's optimistic, so the second table shows what a re-do costs at each tool.
  4. Two bills. Month one for a brand-new customer (free allowances apply), and any later month (they usually don't).

The Survivor Rule: how should you price a small month?

This is the site's own rule of thumb, and it's the only formula in this post:

Effective price per photo = what you paid ÷ (photos you used + leftover photos that survive the month and you'll realistically use).

Leftovers that reset at the end of the billing cycle count as zero. Leftovers that never expire count, but only if you'll actually stage that many more photos. A 20-photo pack is a good deal for someone who stages 20 photos this year and a $19 receipt for five photos for someone who doesn't.

What does a 5-photo month cost at each tool?

Tool Cheapest path to 5 usable photos Month 1 bill (new user) Later-month bill Left over What happens to leftovers
Pedra 7 free image credits, no card (1 credit per staged photo) $0 $49 (Pro Monthly, 100 credits) 2 free credits Not stated in our record
REimagineHome 5 free credits, no card $0 (only if all 5 first tries are usable) $19 (Essential, 30 credits) 0 Not stated in our record
QuickStage 3 free photos, then pay-as-you-go at $1 $2 $5 0 (you buy exactly what you need) Pay-as-you-go credits never expire
Edensign 2 free rooms, then Pay Per Use at $2.00/photo $6 $10 0 Pay Per Use credits expire after 1 month
Roomagen Starter plan, $12/mo for 30 images (free images are watermarked) $12 $12 25 images Not stated in our record
StageHQ $19 one-time pack of 20 photos (free previews are watermarked) $19 $0 while the pack lasts, then $19 15 photos Never expire
PropStyle $20 one-time pack of 6 photos $20 $20 1 photo Rollover is tied to an active subscription; the one-time pack's rule isn't stated in our record
Virtual Staging AI Basic, $25/mo for 6 photos $25 $25 1 photo No rollover
Styldod (human editors) First image free, then $23/image under 8 images $92 $115 0 n/a (per-image orders)

All prices as of September 2026. Month 1 math, shown: QuickStage 2 × $1 = $2; Edensign 3 × $2 = $6; Styldod 4 × $23 = $92. Later month: QuickStage 5 × $1 = $5; Edensign 5 × $2 = $10; Styldod 5 × $23 = $115.

Two rows need a footnote. Edensign's page lists the $2.00 Pay Per Use rate, but our record doesn't capture a minimum purchase, so $6 assumes you can buy exactly three. Roomagen also sells no-subscription credit packs at $0.44 to $0.63 per image, which could undercut the $12 plan, but we didn't record the smallest pack size, so the table uses the plan.

What is each photo really costing you under the Survivor Rule?

Now apply the rule to month one. Leftovers that reset or have no stated survival rule count as zero; leftovers that never expire are shown both ways.

Tool Month 1 bill Survivor Rule price, 5 photos used If you eventually use every leftover
Pedra $0 $0 $0
REimagineHome $0 $0 $0
QuickStage $2 $2 ÷ 5 = $0.40 No leftovers
Edensign $6 $6 ÷ 5 = $1.20 No leftovers
Roomagen $12 $12 ÷ 5 = $2.40 Rollover not stated, so $2.40
StageHQ $19 $19 ÷ 5 = $3.80 $19 ÷ 20 = $0.95
PropStyle $20 $20 ÷ 5 = $4.00 $20 ÷ 6 = $3.33
Virtual Staging AI $25 $25 ÷ 5 = $5.00 No rollover, so $5.00
Styldod $92 $92 ÷ 5 = $18.40 No leftovers

The StageHQ row is the one to think about. If you'll stage five photos a month for four months, its $19 pack works out to $0.95 a photo, which is lower than QuickStage's $1 pay-as-you-go rate. If this is a one-listing year, it's $3.80 a photo and 15 photos you may never use.

Which tools beat QuickStage for five photos, and what's the catch?

Two do in month one, and it's worth saying plainly: Pedra and REimagineHome can both deliver five photos for $0, against QuickStage's $2. Here is what the fine print on their own pricing pages says.

Pedra. Seven free image credits with no card is the most generous free allowance in this table, and it leaves two spare credits for re-tries. The catches: getting a credit back for a bad result is discretionary (thumbs-down feedback "may" return it), and once the free credits are gone, the cheapest monthly path is Pro Monthly at $49 for 100 credits. Pedra also shows different price lists by location: a US browser saw USD prices, while non-US visitors were served a lower EUR list.

REimagineHome. Five free credits covers five photos only if every first generation is usable, because each generation costs a credit and regenerations aren't free. One re-roll and you're buying Essential at $19 a month, which the pricing page itself describes as "legacy tools" with no high-resolution output. Its pricing data is also inconsistent: the rendered page and the page's structured data advertise different prices and allowances, and which applies after the first month is unverified. The FAQ says there are no refunds for cancelled paid plans.

For both, our record doesn't say whether free-tier outputs carry a watermark or a resolution cap. Check that on your own photo before you plan a listing around it.

Later months. Our record lists these free allowances as a starting grant, not a monthly one. If they don't refresh, then in any later month QuickStage's $5 is the lowest bill in the table except StageHQ while a previously bought pack lasts.

What does a re-do cost when a photo isn't right?

The totals above assume no re-rolls. Here's what each pricing page says happens when you need another try:

Tool Re-do cost, per its own page
Pedra Uses a credit; refund for a bad result is discretionary
REimagineHome Every generation, including regenerations, costs 1 credit
QuickStage New visitors get one free QuickFix re-do; plans include 7 to 100 a month
Edensign Regenerations free, up to 18 per photo
Roomagen Every AI tool use costs 2 credits
StageHQ Not stated in our record; all purchases final
PropStyle Not stated in our record; money-back guarantee on paid plans
Virtual Staging AI Unlimited re-renders per uploaded photo; redoing furniture removal means re-uploading and another credit
Styldod Not stated in our record

For example, say one of your five photos needs two extra tries in month one. At Pedra, the two spare free credits absorb them, so the bill stays $0. At REimagineHome, seven generations exceed the five free credits, so the bill becomes $19. At Edensign it stays $6, and at Virtual Staging AI it stays $25. At QuickStage, the new-visitor QuickFix covers one try and the other is one more $1 credit, so $3.

Edensign and Virtual Staging AI are the most forgiving here. If your rooms are hard (odd angles, mixed lighting), a tool with free regenerations can beat a cheaper sticker price once you count tries.

Where does QuickStage fit at five photos a month?

At this volume, the right QuickStage path is pay-as-you-go, not a plan. The Basic plan is $19.99 a month for 75 photos, which only beats $1 a photo once you stage 20 or more photos in a month ($19.99 ÷ $1 ≈ 20). Below that, QuickStage's one-dollar-at-a-time credits are the cheaper route, and any you buy but don't use never expire.

The value case beyond the $2 or $5 total:

  • Nothing to cancel. No subscription, so there's no renewal to remember after the listing closes.
  • No card for the first three. You stage three photos before paying anything, at full quality without a watermark, then buy only the two you still need.
  • Speed. Results in about 30 seconds, so five photos fit inside one sitting.
  • The room stays the room. It's built to keep walls, floors, windows and paint colors exactly as photographed, add only movable furniture and decor, never add appliances or built-ins that aren't there, and keep doors and walkways clear. That matters more than a few dollars when the photo goes on an MLS.

Whichever tool you pick, label every virtually staged photo as staged. California's AB 723 has required a disclosure plus a link, URL or QR code to the unaltered original since January 1, 2026, and many MLSs require labeling too. This isn't legal advice; check your MLS and broker.

Bottom line

For a one-listing, five-photo month, compare total bills, not per-photo rates. Pedra and REimagineHome can be $0 if their free credits land every photo on the first try; QuickStage is $2 for a new user and $5 after that, with nothing left to expire or cancel; StageHQ's $19 pack only wins if you'll use the other 15 photos. Run the Survivor Rule before you buy: if the leftovers reset, they were never part of the deal.

Stage your first three photos free on QuickStage, then pay $1 each for the rest, no card needed.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest way to get five virtually staged photos in one month?

As of September 2026, Pedra's 7 free credits or REimagineHome's 5 free credits can cover five photos for $0 if every first try is usable. QuickStage costs $2 for a new user (3 free photos, then 2 at $1) and $5 after that, with no subscription.

Is a monthly staging plan worth it if I only need five photos?

Usually not. Monthly plans in this comparison start at $12 to $25 and most leftover credits reset or have no stated rollover. At QuickStage, the $19.99 Basic plan only beats $1-per-photo pay-as-you-go once you stage about 20 photos a month.

Do one-time staging packs expire?

It depends on the tool. StageHQ's one-time packs never expire, QuickStage's pay-as-you-go credits never expire, and Edensign's Pay Per Use credits expire after one month, according to each vendor's own pricing page as of September 2026.

Do free virtual staging credits produce listing-ready photos?

Not always. StageHQ's free previews and Roomagen's free images are watermarked, so they don't count toward usable photos. QuickStage's 3 free photos need no account or card and come without a watermark. Check any free output on your own photo first.

What is the Survivor Rule for staging prices?

It is this site's rule of thumb: divide what you paid by the photos you used plus any leftovers that survive the month and that you will realistically use. Credits that reset at the end of the billing cycle count as zero.

Sources

Back to Field notes