What the First $20 Buys at 9 AI Virtual Staging Tools
Minimum purchase vs per-photo rate at 9 AI virtual staging tools, as of September 2026: what $20 buys, what recurs, and what happens to unused photos.
Disclosure: Machineworthy is owned by the maker of QuickStage, one of the tools covered in this post.
As of September 2026 (pricing pages checked September 28–29, 2026), the first $20 buys anywhere from 0 to 200 staged images depending on the tool. At one end, Virtual Staging AI's smallest monthly plan is $25 for 6 photos, so $20 buys nothing. At the other, AI Smart Decor's $9 plan lists 200 images a month. In between, QuickStage sells single photos at $1 each with no subscription, so the minimum spend is $1 and $20 buys 20 photos that never expire.
Those three numbers are not measuring the same thing, which is the point of this teardown. A per-photo rate tells you what a photo costs once you have already committed. The minimum purchase tells you what you have to commit before you get one.
What is the first-twenty test?
The first-twenty test is this site's own five-question read of a pricing page. It ignores the headline rate and asks what a new customer's first $20 turns into. Earlier posts here covered free tiers, re-do policies and credit expiry in detail, so this one stays on the first paid dollar.
The five criteria, in the order to check them:
- Smallest payment accepted. The lowest amount the checkout will take. If it is above $20, the tool fails the test at step one.
- Photos that payment buys. Counted in listing photos, after converting credits. Some tools charge 2 credits per image, some charge extra credits for a larger download.
- One-time or recurring. A one-time charge ends when you close the tab. A monthly plan bills again unless you cancel.
- Entry-tier output limits. Whether the cheapest tier caps resolution, withholds a feature or uses an older engine.
- What happens to what you don't use. Kept forever, kept while subscribed, or wiped at the end of the cycle.
Every competitor figure below comes from that vendor's own pricing page or terms as we recorded them on September 28, 2026. Where a page did not state something, the table says "not stated" instead of guessing. Division is shown so you can check it.
What does $20 buy at each tool?
| Tool | Smallest payment | What it buys | Per photo | Billing | Entry-tier limit | Unused photos |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickStage pay-as-you-go | $1 | 1 photo (buy 1 to 50 at a time) | $1 ÷ 1 = $1.00 | One-time | No watermark on delivered photos; pixel size not stated on the pricing page | Never expire |
| QuickStage Basic | $19.99 | 75 photos plus 7 QuickFix re-dos | $19.99 ÷ 75 = $0.267 | Monthly | Same as above | Reset each month |
| StageHQ | $19 | 20 staged photos | $19 ÷ 20 = $0.95 | One-time | None recorded | Never expire; all purchases final |
| QuickStaging | $10 a month, or $18 one-time | 20 credits, or 30 credits | $10 ÷ 20 = $0.50; $18 ÷ 30 = $0.60 | Either | 1 credit per standard result | Roll over and never expire |
| RoomStaging | $19 | 100 credits | $19 ÷ 100 = $0.19 at base resolution | Monthly | 2K download costs 3 extra credits, 4K costs 5 | Expire at the end of each billing cycle |
| Roomagen | $12 | 60 credits = 30 images | $12 ÷ 30 = $0.40 | Monthly | Output capped at HD | Not stated in our record |
| AI Smart Decor | $9 | 200 images | $9 ÷ 200 = $0.045 | Monthly | Output resolution not stated | Not stated in our record |
| BrightShot | $19 | 80 credits | $19 ÷ 80 = $0.2375 per credit | Monthly | None recorded | No rollover; count resets each cycle |
| REimagineHome | $19 | 30 credits | $19 ÷ 30 = $0.63 per credit | Monthly | No high-resolution output; "legacy tools" | Not stated in our record |
| Virtual Staging AI | $25 | 6 photos | $25 ÷ 6 = $4.17 | Monthly | None recorded | No rollover |
All prices as of September 2026. A credit is not always a photo, so read the next section before comparing the "Per photo" column.
Where does a competitor's first $20 buy more than QuickStage's?
In several places, and it is worth saying plainly. Twenty dollars of QuickStage pay-as-you-go is 20 photos. On raw count, six of the eight competitors hand over more for $20 or less:
- AI Smart Decor: 200 images for $9.
- RoomStaging: 100 credits for $19.
- BrightShot: 80 credits for $19.
- QuickStaging: 30 credits for $18 one-time, or 40 credits across two months of the $10 Solo plan ($20 ÷ 40 = $0.50).
- Roomagen: 30 images for $12.
- REimagineHome: 30 credits for $19.
StageHQ lands at the same 20 photos for a dollar less. Three of those (AI Smart Decor, RoomStaging and BrightShot) also list a bigger monthly number than the 75 photos on QuickStage's $19.99 Basic plan.
Now the documented catches, one per tool, each from the vendor's own page.
AI Smart Decor. Its plans meter generic "images" and the pricing page never states output resolution. The product is positioned as a consumer room-redesign tool, and virtual staging is one of 16 features. So 200 is a count of generations, not a count of listing-ready photos at a known size. It is also a $9 monthly subscription, not a $9 purchase.
RoomStaging. The 100 credits are base-resolution generations at 1 credit each. Its pricing page says a higher-resolution download costs extra credits: 3 for 2K and 5 for 4K. Unused credits expire at the end of each billing cycle. If you stage 12 photos in month one, the other 88 credits are gone.
BrightShot. The vendor's blog equates one credit to roughly one staged image, so 80 is a fair working number. Unused credits don't roll over, and the "$14/mo" headline is the annual-billing rate ($171 a year); month to month it is $19.
QuickStaging. This is the strongest small-spend competitor on the page: a one-time $18 pack, 1 credit per standard result, and credits that roll over and never expire. It beats QuickStage pay-as-you-go on rate ($0.60 against $1.00). The catch is the floor. You cannot buy fewer than 30 credits one-time, so a 4-photo job still costs $18.
Roomagen. Every tool use costs 2 credits, so the Starter plan's 60 credits are 30 images, and Starter output is capped at HD. Its no-subscription packs run $0.44 to $0.63 per image, but our record does not capture pack sizes, so we cannot say what the smallest pack costs.
REimagineHome. The $19 Essential tier is described on its own pricing page as "legacy tools" with "No Next-Gen AI or High Resolution Quality". One credit is one generation, so a second attempt at the same room is a second credit. The page's displayed prices also disagree with the prices in its own title and structured data, so confirm the figure at checkout.
StageHQ. A clean one-time offer: $19, 20 photos, credits never expire. The fine print is in the terms, which rule out refunds for any reason, including unused credits.
Virtual Staging AI. The smallest monthly plan is $25 for 6 photos. The $16 a month figure is billed yearly as $192. Its FAQ says unused photos do not roll over on either billing period.
Which tools let you spend less than $20?
This is where the minimum purchase and the per-photo rate pull apart. Sort the same nine tools by the smallest amount the checkout accepts:
- QuickStage: $1, one-time.
- AI Smart Decor: $9, recurring.
- QuickStaging: $10 recurring, or $18 one-time.
- Roomagen: $12, recurring.
- StageHQ: $19 one-time. RoomStaging, BrightShot and REimagineHome: $19, recurring.
- Virtual Staging AI: $25, recurring.
Among these nine, QuickStage's one-dollar minimum is the lowest spend that buys a listing photo. It is also one of three one-time options with a recorded entry price, alongside StageHQ and QuickStaging's pack (Roomagen sells packs too, but we have no pack price on record). The nearest recorded one-time floor is $18.
Here is why that matters. For example, an agent with one vacant condo needs 5 staged photos this month and nothing next month:
- QuickStage pay-as-you-go: 5 × $1 = $5, nothing left over to lose.
- QuickStaging pack: $18, with 25 credits banked for later.
- StageHQ: $19, with 15 photos banked and no refund available on them.
- RoomStaging Basic: $19, with 95 credits that expire at the end of the cycle unless the plan renews.
At 5 photos the "expensive" $1 rate produces the smallest bill of the nine; the next lowest is AI Smart Decor's $9 subscription. The effective price of the photos actually used is $18 ÷ 5 = $3.60 on the QuickStaging pack until the remaining credits get used, and $19 ÷ 5 = $3.80 on a $19 plan that is cancelled after one month.
What happens to the photos you don't use?
Three outcomes show up in this set:
- Kept with no time limit: QuickStage pay-as-you-go credits, StageHQ credits, QuickStaging credits.
- Wiped each cycle: RoomStaging, BrightShot, Virtual Staging AI, and QuickStage's own monthly plans. QuickStage's site says subscription credits are use-it-or-lose-it and reset monthly, including on annual billing.
- Not stated in our record: AI Smart Decor, Roomagen, REimagineHome. Ask before you buy.
A recurring plan also has a second cost that never appears in a rate table: it charges again. A $19 plan forgotten for three months is $57.
What does QuickStage's first $20 look like?
Two honest versions.
Pay-as-you-go. $1 per photo, no subscription, 1 to 50 photos per purchase. $20 buys 20 photos. The site states those credits never expire and that delivered photos carry no watermark. The pricing page does not publish a pixel dimension for downloads, so treat resolution as "not stated" and check it on the free photos. Results arrive in about 30 seconds.
Basic plan. The QuickStage Basic plan card lists $19.99 a month for 75 photos, which is $19.99 ÷ 75 = $0.267 a photo, with 7 QuickFix re-dos a month included. The catch is the same one named above for other subscriptions: unused photos reset monthly. High-volume rates drop to as low as $0.11 a photo on the annual Agency plan, billed yearly.
In both versions the staging is built to keep walls, floors, windows and paint colors as photographed and to add only movable furniture and decor. And before any payment there are 3 free photos with no account or card.
Who should pick which?
Pick QuickStage pay-as-you-go if you stage occasionally, your volume swings from month to month, or you want the bill to equal the photos you used. Below 9 photos it is the lowest total in this set, since the next cheapest checkout is a $9 subscription. Below 18 photos it is the lowest one-time total we could record, because the next one-time price is $18.
Pick QuickStage Basic if you reliably stage a few listings a month and want re-dos inside the plan price.
Pick QuickStaging's $18 pack or StageHQ's $19 pack if you know you will use 20 to 30 photos eventually and prefer to prepay at $0.60 or $0.95 each.
Look at AI Smart Decor or RoomStaging if raw count per dollar is what matters most, base resolution is acceptable for your use, and you will use the allowance every cycle. On count per dollar they win this table. Confirm output size and how the room itself is handled on your own photos first, and compare against QuickStage's larger plans, which run from $0.267 down to $0.11 a photo with QuickFix re-dos included.
Whichever tool you use, label virtually staged photos as virtually staged in the listing.
Bottom line
The first-twenty test separates two questions that pricing pages blur together: how cheap is a photo, and how little can I spend. On the first question, AI Smart Decor ($0.045), RoomStaging ($0.19 at base resolution) and BrightShot ($0.2375 per credit) list lower numbers than anything QuickStage sells for $20, with subscriptions, resolution limits or expiring credits attached. On the second, QuickStage is lowest of the nine at $1, one-time, with credits that don't expire. Price per photo is one input. Minimum spend, re-do cost, speed and whether you can try it without a card are the others.
Run the first-twenty test on QuickStage with three free photos, no card.
Frequently asked questions
What is the smallest amount I can spend on AI virtual staging?
Among the nine tools compared here, as of September 2026, the lowest paid minimum is $1 for one photo at QuickStage, with no subscription. The next lowest are AI Smart Decor's $9 monthly plan and QuickStaging's $10 monthly plan. The lowest one-time purchases after QuickStage are QuickStaging's $18 pack and StageHQ's $19 pack.
How many virtually staged photos does $20 buy?
It depends on the tool. As of September 2026, $20 buys 20 photos on QuickStage pay-as-you-go, 20 at StageHQ for $19, 30 credits at QuickStaging for $18, 100 base-resolution credits at RoomStaging for $19 a month, and 200 images at AI Smart Decor for $9 a month. At Virtual Staging AI the smallest monthly plan is $25, so $20 buys none.
Is a lower per-photo rate always the cheaper choice?
No. A low rate usually comes with a minimum purchase or a monthly plan. If you need 5 photos, $1 each costs $5, while a $19 plan at $0.19 a credit still costs $19. The lower rate only wins once you use most of what you paid for.
Do unused virtual staging credits expire?
It varies by tool. As of September 2026, QuickStage pay-as-you-go credits, StageHQ credits and QuickStaging credits do not expire. RoomStaging, BrightShot and Virtual Staging AI do not carry unused monthly credits forward, and QuickStage's own monthly plans also reset each month.
Does QuickStage require a subscription?
No. QuickStage sells single photos at $1 each, 1 to 50 at a time, with no subscription, and the first 3 photos are free with no account or card. Monthly plans start at $19.99 for 75 photos if you want a lower per-photo rate.