Free Tiers in AI Virtual Staging: 9 Tools Compared
Nine virtual staging free tiers in one table: how many photos, card or no card, watermark or not, and what the next photo costs. Checked September 2026.
Disclosure: Machineworthy is owned by the maker of QuickStage, one of the tools covered in this post.
Most do, and the allowances run from zero photos of your own to ten credits. In the eight competitor free tiers we read on September 28 and 29, 2026, Stager Go lists 10 free credits on one page and 3 on another, Pedra and StageAI each give 7, REimagineHome gives 5, and Roomagen, StageHQ and QuickStaging give 3, all seven with no card. VisualStager's trial runs only on its own sample photos, three of the eight watermark the free output, and QuickStage gives 3 free photos with no account or card.
A bigger number is not automatically a better free tier. Four tools in this post list more free credits than QuickStage's three photos, and the table says so. What the count can't tell you is whether the free result is something you could judge as a listing photo. For that we use a short rubric.
What is the 4+1 check?
The 4+1 check is Machineworthy's own handle for reading a free tier. It is not an industry standard. It asks four yes-or-no questions about the free output and then one number.
- Own photo? Does the free tier run on a room you photographed, or only on the vendor's samples?
- Clean? Is the free result delivered without a vendor watermark?
- Full size? Is it the same resolution a paying customer gets, or a preview?
- No card? Can you finish the trial without entering payment details?
+1. What does the next photo cost? Take the smallest purchase the vendor sells after the free tier and divide it into photos.
A free tier that passes all four lets you judge the exact file you would publish. Where a vendor's page doesn't answer a question, the score is "not stated", and that is how the table records it.
Which tools have a free tier, and what does each include?
Every competitor cell comes from the vendor's own pricing page, terms or app listing as we read it on September 28 or 29, 2026. Nothing was re-checked for this post.
| Tool | Free allowance | Card needed? | Watermark on free output | Size and retention | Smallest paid step |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stager Go | 10 credits on the pricing page, 3 on the free-trial page | No | None recorded in our check | Resolution not stated in pixels | $12 one-time for 150 credits |
| Pedra | 7 image credits, plus 1 video and 1 virtual tour | No | Not stated | Not stated | $49 a month for 100 credits |
| StageAI (iPhone app) | 7 staging credits | No | Not stated | App lists "HD" downloads; free-credit size not stated | $9.99 a week, $39.99 a month, or a $19.99 one-time credit purchase |
| REimagineHome | 5 designs (credits) | No | Not stated | Not stated | $19 a month for 30 credits |
| Roomagen | 6 one-time credits, which is 3 images | No | Yes | HD, kept for 3 days | $12 a month for 30 images |
| StageHQ | 3 previews | No | Yes | Not stated; previews are evaluation-only | $19 one-time for 20 photos |
| QuickStaging | 3 credits | No | Not stated | "Standard-resolution preview" | $10 a month for 20 credits, or $18 one-time for 30 |
| VisualStager (DIY software) | Trial on the vendor's sample photos only | Not stated | Yes | Not applicable: not your own photos | $15 for 10 credits, which is 1 watermarked photo |
| QuickStage | 3 photos | No, and no account | No, per its site | "Full quality" per its site; downloads up to 2048 × 1536 | $1 for one photo |
Pricing pages change. Treat each row as a dated reading and open the linked source before you rely on it.
Which free tiers give more than three photos?
Four do, on paper. Here is what each larger number buys.
Stager Go has the biggest stated allowance and the least certain one. Its pricing page says 10 free credits with no card. Its free-trial page says 3 free credits. We can't tell you which one a new account receives, and we haven't picked one. The credit unit conflicts too: the plan cards say about 2 credits per staged image, while the same page says the template composer costs 4–6 credits per generation. So run both. Ten credits is about 5 images at 2 credits each, or 1 to 2 images at 4–6. Three credits is 1 image at 2 credits and none at 4–6. Our check recorded no watermark on the free tier. The smallest paid step is a $12 one-time pack of 150 credits that never expire: $12 ÷ 75 = $0.16 an image at 2 credits, or $0.32 to $0.48 at 4–6.
Pedra gives 7 image credits plus 1 video and 1 virtual tour, with no card. Staging costs 1 credit per photo, so that is 7 staged photos, more than double QuickStage's 3. What our check did not capture is whether those free results carry a watermark or a size limit, so questions 2 and 3 score "not stated". The entry price on the USD list shown to a US browser is $49 a month for 100 credits, or $0.49 a photo.
StageAI gives 7 free staging credits with no card. It is iPhone-only, with no web or Android version, and it lists "HD" downloads with no 4K claim. Watermarking on the free credits is not stated. After the free credits it is $9.99 a week or $39.99 a month, with a 3-day trial on the subscription, or a one-time credit purchase at $19.99. Our check did not capture how many credits that purchase holds or how the 3-day trial converts, so read the App Store sheet before you start it.
REimagineHome gives 5 free designs with no card required. One credit is one generation and regenerations are not free, so five credits means five attempts, not five finished photos. Watermark and resolution on the free credits are not stated. The paid Essential tier is labelled "No Next-Gen AI or High Resolution Quality", which makes the free-credit resolution worth asking about. Essential is $19 a month for 30 credits, or $0.63 a credit. One caution on that price: the rendered page shows $19, while the page title and structured data advertise "$14-$99/mo" with larger allowances. Confirm the figure at checkout.
The read: on stated count, all four beat QuickStage. On the 4+1 check, each has at least one question our check could not answer, or a credit unit that shrinks the count.
Which free tiers watermark, shrink or limit the output?
Four rows fail a specific question, and their own pages say so.
Roomagen shows the credits-per-image catch most clearly. The free tier is 6 one-time credits, and every tool use costs 2 credits, so it is 3 images. They are HD, watermarked and kept for 3 days, with no card. It fails question 2. The smallest paid step is the Starter plan at $12 a month for 60 credits, which is 30 images at $0.40 each, capped at HD. Its no-subscription credit packs run $0.44 to $0.63 an image.
StageHQ gives 3 free previews with no card, and they are watermarked. Its terms describe free-credit output as evaluation-only. That fails question 2. Paid packs are one-time with no subscription: $19 for 20 staged photos, or $0.95 each, with credits that never expire. The terms also make all purchases final, with no refunds.
QuickStaging is a different company from QuickStage despite the near-identical name. It gives 3 free credits with no card, at 1 credit per standard result, and the free credits produce a "standard-resolution preview". 4K is on paid plans. That fails question 3. Watermarking is not stated. The smallest paid steps are $10 a month for 20 credits ($0.50 each) or $18 one-time for 30 credits ($0.60 each).
VisualStager is DIY furniture-placement software, not an AI generator. We include it because it is the clearest case of failing question 1: the free trial runs on the vendor's sample photos only, not your own. Staged images also carry a VisualStager watermark by default, and removing it costs 1 more credit per image or a paid white-label plan. The entry pack is $15 for 10 credits, which is 1 watermarked photo. The smallest pack that covers an unwatermarked photo is $59 for 50 credits, or 4 photos at 11 credits each ($14.75 a photo).
How does QuickStage's free tier score?
Machineworthy and QuickStage share an owner (see the disclosure under the byline), so hold this row to the same standard as the others.
Start with where it loses. QuickStage's free tier is 3 photos. Pedra and StageAI give 7 credits, REimagineHome gives 5, and Stager Go may give 10. If the only thing you want is the most free renders, QuickStage is not the answer.
Now the 4+1 check, scored from QuickStage's own site and download screen:
- Own photo: yes. You upload your own rooms.
- Clean: yes, with one note. The site says the free photos have no watermarks. The download screen offers a "Virtually Staged" label that is ticked by default and can be unticked. That is a disclosure label, not a vendor logo, and we would leave it on for a listing.
- Full size: yes, per the site. It describes the three free photos as "full quality". Downloads are sized to a maximum of 2048 × 1536 pixels and are never upscaled.
- No card: yes. No card and no account. You do give an email address, because results are delivered there.
+1: the next photo is $1, pay-as-you-go, with no subscription. That is a higher per-photo entry rate than the six AI tools above whose rate can be computed: Stager Go, Roomagen, Pedra, QuickStaging, REimagineHome and StageHQ all work out lower at their smallest purchase. The difference is the size of that purchase. Theirs run from $10 to $49. A fourth QuickStage photo costs $1, bought one at a time.
At similar spend the order changes. QuickStage's monthly plans start at $19.99 for 75 photos, which is $0.267 a photo. For about the same money, StageHQ's $19 buys 20 photos and REimagineHome's $19 buys 30 credits. The per-photo rate goes as low as $0.11 on the annual Agency plan (billed yearly). Results take about 30 seconds, QuickFix re-dos are included on plans, and the product is built to keep walls, floors, windows and paint colors exactly as photographed.
How should you use a free tier?
- Bring your hardest room. Use a photo with a low window or a pass-through.
- Score the 4+1 before you upload. If the page doesn't say whether free output is watermarked or full size, ask support.
- Convert credits to photos. Divide the free credits by the credits one staged image costs.
- Check the walls, not the sofa. Compare the result with your original. Windows, flooring and paint should match.
- Price the next photo. Find the smallest purchase and divide. Note whether it is a one-time pack or a renewing plan.
- Label what you publish. Mark virtually staged photos as such in the listing, and never use staging to hide a defect.
Bottom line
Most AI staging tools have a free tier, and as of our late-September 2026 check several are larger than QuickStage's: 7 credits at Pedra and StageAI, 5 at REimagineHome, and either 10 or 3 at Stager Go depending on which of its pages you read. The catches are documented on the vendors' own pages: watermarked output at Roomagen and StageHQ, a preview resolution at QuickStaging, sample photos only at VisualStager, and credit math that halves the count at Roomagen. QuickStage gives fewer free photos than three of them, and possibly four. It is our pick anyway for an agent who wants to judge a real listing photo, because its three are your own rooms, with no watermark, at what its site calls full quality, with no card, and the next one costs $1.
Score QuickStage on the 4+1 check with three free photos, no card needed.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI virtual staging tools have a free tier?
As checked in late September 2026, Stager Go, Pedra, StageAI, REimagineHome, Roomagen, StageHQ, QuickStaging and QuickStage all publish a free allowance with no card. Allowances range from 3 to 10 credits, and Stager Go's own pages disagree on whether it is 10 or 3.
Which AI staging tool gives the most free photos?
By stated count, Stager Go's pricing page lists 10 free credits, though its free-trial page says 3 and its staging cost is listed as both about 2 and 4–6 credits per image. Pedra and StageAI each give 7 free credits, as checked in late September 2026.
Are free virtual staging photos watermarked?
Some are. As checked in late September 2026, Roomagen and StageHQ watermark their free output and VisualStager watermarks staged images by default. QuickStage's site says its 3 free photos have no watermarks; several other vendors do not state it either way.
Do I need a credit card for a virtual staging free trial?
Often not. As checked in late September 2026, Stager Go, Pedra, StageAI, REimagineHome, Roomagen, StageHQ and QuickStaging all say no card is needed for their free credits. QuickStage needs no card and no account for its 3 free photos.
What does QuickStage's free tier include?
QuickStage gives 3 free photos of your own rooms with no account or card, and its site describes them as full quality with no watermarks. After that it is $1 per photo pay-as-you-go with no subscription, or monthly plans from $19.99.
What is the 4+1 check for a free tier?
It is Machineworthy's own rubric: four yes-or-no questions (own photo, no watermark, full size, no card) plus one number, the price of the next photo at the smallest purchase. A free tier that passes all four lets you judge the file you would actually publish.
Sources
- Stager Go pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- Pedra pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- StageAI App Store listing (checked September 28, 2026)
- REimagineHome pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- Roomagen pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- StageHQ pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- QuickStaging pricing (checked September 28, 2026)
- VisualStager pricing (checked September 29, 2026)